fbpx

September is National Preparedness Month

September is National Preparedness Month

Sep 8, 2020

National Preparedness Month (NPM) is recognized each September to promote family and community disaster planning – for now and throughout the year. As our nation continues to respond to current disasters (pandemic, fires, floods, hurricanes), there is no better time than now to create your preparedness plan.

This year’s NPM theme is “Disasters Don’t Wait. Make Your Plan Today.” There are different things you can do to prepare you and your loved ones should a disaster occur in your area.

Prepare for Disasters

Limit the impacts that disasters have on you and your family. Know the risk of disasters in your area and check your insurance coverage. Learn how to make your home stronger in the face of storms and other common hazards and act fast if you receive a local warning or alert.

Teach Youth About Preparedness

Talk to your kids about preparing for emergencies and what to do in case you are separated. Reassure them by providing information about how they can get involved.

Make a Plan

Talk to your friends and family about how you will communicate before, during and after a disaster. Make sure to update your plan based on the Centers for Disease Control recommendations.

Build A Kit

Gather supplies that will last for several days after a disaster for everyone living in your home. Don’t forget to consider the unique needs each person or pet may have in case you must evacuate quickly. Update your kits and supplies based on recommendations by the Centers for Disease Control.

Assistance before, during and after disasters

National VOAD, an association of organizations that mitigate and alleviate the impact of disasters, provides a forum promoting cooperation, communication, coordination and collaboration. It also fosters more effective delivery of services to communities affected by a disaster. ​
This virtual exhibition highlights some of the valuable services from our voluntary, faith-based, community-based, association, private and philanthropic partners.
Section 508: https://www.section508.gov
Adventist Community Services: https://www.communityservices.org/
American Red Cross: https://www.redcross.org
Building Resilient Communities: https://www.buildingresilientcommunities.org
Catholic Charities: https://www.catholiccharitiesusa.org
Church World Service: https://www.cwsglobal.org
Civil Air Patrol: https://www.gocivilairpatrol.com
Convoy of Hope: https://www.convoyofhope.com
COSSAO: https://www.facebook.com/pg/cossaoutuado
Data Distributing: https://www.datadistributing.com
Disaster Distress Helpline: https://www.samhsa.gov/find-help/disaster-distress-helpline
EQUIPROJECT: https://www.equiproject.org
Faith-Based ISAO: https://www.faithbased-isao.org
Foundation for the Advancement in Conservation: https://www.culturalheritage.org/about-us/foundation
HOPE Animal-Assisted Crisis Response: https://www.hopeaacr.org
ICNA Relief: https://www.icnarelief.org
International Medical Corps: https://www.internationalmedicalcorps.org
International Orthodox Christian Charities: https://www.iocc.org
Islamic Medical Association of North America: https://www.imana.org
Islamic Relief USA: https://www.irusa.org
IsraAID: https://www.israaid.org
ITDRC: https://www.itdrc.org
Kinkō: https://www.kinko.care
Lions Club International: https://www.lionsclub.org
Livi Connect: https://www.liviconnect.com/
Malbro Construction: http://www.malbroconstruction.com/
Masimo: https://www.masimo.com
Matthew 25 Ministries: https://www.m25m.org
Article Courtesy: blogs.va.gov

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments